4 – Should I or shouldn’t I?

Should I or shouldn’t I?

Oh, oh, oh this is no laughing matter!!!

Oh, Oh, Oh this is no laughing matter!!!

Can you feel it? Can you taste it?

Would you like a bite? A piece? Or the whole thing? Let me tell you something, my wife and I don’t drink coffee, don’t smoke, barely touch alcohol, but pastries… We are always open for some quality pâtisseries. And what better occasion to spread humor while sitting by the window of Goplana’s Polish bakery! Follow this blog and you’ll get to know some of the finest pâtissier in Montréal.

You really want this close-up!!!

You really wanted this close-up!!!

But first let’s meet Robert!

I have 2 wonderful stories to share with you, but first let me introduce to you Citizen Clown Robert: Robert was our host this tuesday afternoon. Normally my beautifull wife Tania would be at work at this time of day, luckily she had a few vacation days so we ended up playing hooky together while our daughter was at school. Walking hand in hand after 15 years of marriage we spoiled ourselves in our favorite pastime, pastries. You see she’s from Paris, so she knows one thing or two about patés, baguettes and pastries. But this was supposed to be about Robert!

Citizen Clown Robert

Meet our new friend Citizen Clown Robert

Robert (I like to pronounce it French with a nice rolling RR and no T… Roberrrr) is a very nice gentle man who has been living here for the last 10 years, doing this and that and many other things. Having lived in Paris after being born in Poland he finds that Montréal, albeit a nice and wonderfull city, lacks a bit of the flair and culture of Gai Paris. Well having also lived in Paris I can understand what he’s talking about, and I did bring back with my wife a piece of the City of Lights (as well as St-Denis, 93, and Sénégal) with me!

The shop was quiet as to be expected on a tuesday afternoon, until school ended and the students came for their late afternoon Pączki. A big black African mama sitting next to us in her wonderfull typical traditionnal dress was the only decoration in the café, which in itself was quite a striking mixture of flashy orange and white. The line of Polish jams and cookies were the only few ornate elements. Of course the showcases of fine pastries and sausages were the main attractions. Mama was playing with her cellphone as we were drinking our raspberry tea and sharing our amazing Choux à la Crème. Our second story is now set to take place…

Little mister pout!

What does it take to be a clown? Depends whom you ask…. According to Patch Adams anyone and everyone can be a clown, all you need is an open heart… But according to some Doctor Clown you must be able to show your credentails… and then there’s How dare you? and Who are you? the TWIN brothers of the CAN’T family…

So walks in this Indian family… little boy, mom and grand maman and they seem to be in a family discussion of some sorts. Little boy doesn’t seem to be very happy. I do not follow what they are saying as I don’t want to invade their privacy… He lays his head down on the table, not a peep, and it just feels heavy for everyone present. Eventually they put on their jackets as they get ready to leave, and the young boy is definitively unhappy and not moving. I feel it is not an argument, but just an uneasy situation for the whole family.

When the young man does eventually get up to go with his parents, I had already taken a foam nose out of my pocket and was showing it to mom, silently asking her if i could give it to him. She gave a big smile and nodded yes, so I touched the boy’s shoulder, and as he turned around I offered him the nose. He was all smiles, and so were the moms. Suddendly the whole heavyness liftness, and they waved goodbye through the window as they were walking up the street, all full of smiles, and a skip in the young boy’s steps!

Fit for a Citizen Clown!

Fit for a Citizen Clown!

Should I or shouldn’t I?

I am learning, this is all new to me. I actually didn’t say a word to the kid, as in Guatemala! I didn’t even have my nose on. It just happened. Had I received my stickers maybe I would have offered some to the moms. I could have asked them if I could take a picture with them, to share the memory, with them, with you…. Should or shouldn’t I? What I am learning is to respect myself as I am today in my Citizen Clown journey… Other Clowns might have felt comfortable doing more, and others wouldn’t have gotten a nose out of their pockets.

Nose Job

What I am learning, what I am sharing with you is that there is no right way or wrong way to do this. Since Guatemala I am an undercover Clown. I make people smile daily with the way I dress.. I am always one nose away from being a clown…. Now if could only find the right hat…baseball caps just don’t fit my style!!! hihihihihi

p3

My beautifull wife with her Nose job!

Thank you for sharing in this part of my journey!

”May the Farce be with all of us!”

signature

 

 

 

I invite you to follow all my Amazing Adventures by subscribing to this blog, and please join my Facebook page: The Amazing Adventures of Citizen Clown Fanpage.  Share with your friends and on your Facebook page, this is greatly appreciated!

Love xxx

One thought on “4 – Should I or shouldn’t I?

  1. You are doing such a great job of observing, timing, feeling of what is and is what is not appropriate. Many clowns miss this step – which is so important – They barge in, are loud and boisterous, looking to create a scene or attention – Rather than find a need and make a difference. You are definitely on the right track and certainly ahead of many who have already donned the make up and costume – without learning the basics. We each have our own methods – Some work better than others You are a natural. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

Leave a comment