Memory Pizza!

What do you do with your Memory Pizza?

Pizza Guy 85

Guy Giard, Concrete Pizza, 1975

1975, just fresh out of college I am now officially an art student. Suddenly I am surrounded by all these colorful freaky animals. Women with long hair and Indian dresses smoking the proverbial Beedi. I enjoy their tiny bells jiggling from their flat sandals. Hints of incense and sounds Ding ling, Ding ling as they floats by. What a change.

For the last five years I was sentenced to a private all boys college. My dress code consisted of acrylic suits and neckties. Sweaty, smelly and greasy, bullied as hell, I started to smoke to get away from my cell mates. My only wish was to escape. Now I was with a new crowd, a new species of beings. I could start to let loose with beers and smokes.

Freedom

I was all set for an amazing two years, sharing a space and not feel threatened. I could hide behind my easel, painting, peering at the other students, falling secretly in love. If they only could look or ask me something, I’ll do anything they want. And then there were the nude drawing classes. Oh my god, where do I look!

Bathing in the April noon sun, I feel the burn on my skin. My heart is racing, pouncing, bu-dum bu-dum, bu-dum, words fumbling out as I am declaring my love. Closing of the bar, 2am, I throw up as I am too drunk. Everything shifts, turns, I can’t look straight as I spew in the streets. Alone in the studio, I carve, mold the clay and light up a smoke. I spend hours and hours polishing finished works.

Memories pile up, my sketchbooks overflow with emotional stories.  I selectively choose to remember some, others I’d rather forget. Smothered in the Tomato Sauce of Nostalgia, covered beneath the Crusty Melted Cheese of Time, this Memory Pizza serves me slices of how I felt in the yesteryears.

Find your own Memory Pizzas!

Today I find myself with a fossilized imprint of my past. As an artist I am faced with a dual dilemma: keeping the works for posterity, and letting go of what is no longer relevant. As I wrote in  Achieve your dreams to move forward having dreams may be easy but letting go of what’s holding you back might not.

These past works mean a lot, but that is no longer enough anymore. They are relevant looking backwards, but not forward.  I am sure that if you look around your home you will find your own “Memory Pizzas”.

  • What is surrounding you today that no longer fits with your vision?
  • Can you pick it up and make the choice to leave it behind?

If you walk along the streets of St-Henri today you might come along my sculpture, my Memory Pizza. I’ve decided to leave it on the curb and open my soul to a new path. Will you?

Start the conversation by writing your thoughts in the ‘Leave a Reply’ section below!

Guy Giard

If telling my story can offer a beacon of hope to those who are locked away behind dark walls of protection, then I feel I have started to accomplish my task.   

Guy  Giard is a speaker and the author of the upcoming book ‘LOVE’s healing journey’ How to Triumph over life’s adversities

fbc348d0

Dr “Patch” Adams writes about Guy Giard: “I truly feel his passion to live radiant, using clowning as a tool to help midwife a loving world. To hear of his own transformation to being a loving soul will inspire others to try it on.

 Sign up today for the Pre-Launch Newsletter by following this link and be the first to receive special reductions and excerpts from the book!

 

Leave a Reply

